Book Review #2: “How to Win Friends and Influence People”

It’s Sunday! And you know what that means. I take a break from all my “traveling” to offer a candid book review! We are docking the boat today and pondering all the wonderful places I visited last week.

I rank the books I read by where I would place them on my personal bookshelf, if at all. My ranking system is 1 through 5 with 5 shelves being the highest.

***********************************************************************

Book: “How to Win Friends and Influence People”

Author:  Dale Carnegie

Ranking: TOP-SHELF book (5 out of 5 shelves)!!!!! A must read! Here is a description of what it takes to be TOP-SHELF: One of the best books I have ever read. Took it with me everywhere I went. Soul stirring and changed me for the better. Added it to my “top shelf” of keepers and books to refer back to. Underlined 83% of the book (or more!). I grew sadder as I turned each page knowing that the adventure would soon end.

***********************************************************************

Okay folks. I have a confession. I am a little bit of a snob when it comes to two things, books and food. And, to earn a spot on the TOP SHELF of my bookcase is quite a feat. But this little gem is very deserving to live in the penthouse suite of my cherished green bookcase. Here’s why:

Dale Carnegie was a very bright man. He definitely understood people and how to relate to people. His best selling book, written in 1936, “How to Win Friends and Influence People” is still very popular today. Now that I have digested it, I know why! It is a four part book:

  1. Part One: Fundamental Techniques in Handling People
  2. Part Two: Six Ways to Make People Like You
  3. Part Three: How to Win People to Your Way of Thinking
  4. Part Four: Be a Leader – How to Change People Without Giving Offense or Arousing Resentment

People skills can be learned but are often not taught in school. Instead, we settle for Algebra, Biology, and Latin. However, we need to know how to relate to people every single day of our lives. I can still conjugate Latin verbs…but when will I ever need that information? Jeopardy is not begging me to be a participant!

If you choose to read this book, you will learn how to put the golden rule into practice “treat others as you would want to be treated”. That would be the number one reason I would encourage you to read this book.

My favorite part of the book was Part One: Fundamental Techniques in Handling People. This section of the book would make a fantastic college course. And I would remember more of it than I have remembered from any of my college courses!

In ‘review’, here is a very quick summary that condenses all of my thoughts:

Would I read it again? Yes

Would I recommend it to you? Yes

Would I pay full price for it? Yes

Did I stay up late reading it? Yes

Did it change my life in some way for the better? Yes

One of my favorite quotes: “If you and I will inspire the people whom we come in contact to a realization of the hidden treasures they possess, we can do far more than change people. We can literally transform them.” page 217

My big take away: My words and actions or lack there of are influential and monumental in the lives of others. By doing simple things, I can make a huge difference. In my job as a life coach, this is what I get to do most every day. Grateful indeed.

If I haven’t already convinced you to do so, you need to read this book. NEED. Period.

Drum roll please……………………

 

The book for this week is “As a Man Thinketh” by James Allen. A quick little read that already has me thinking!!! ( ;

Stay tuned for my new blog this week. We are launching the new http://www.lizziebranch.com on Friday.

Lifting the anchor and heading into deeper waters, friends. Won’t you join me?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review #2: “How to Win Friends and Influence People”

  1. Cathy Williams

    Ok, so you finished it and I am still on the first section……Maybe I don’t really want to get along with people right now!! : ) (just kidding…will continue working on it)

Leave a Reply

