5 minute Friday: Risk

It’s Friday! That can only mean one thing!

I am linking up with Lisa Jo Baker for “Five Minute Friday”! Here are the guidelines:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

And the word of the day is……………d r u m r o l l…………………..RISK!

Hope you enjoy my 5 minutes:

Every day, I think about it. And then I wait for it to happen. Sort of like sitting by the mailbox waiting for the mail, but it happens to be a holiday.

Every day.

I am trapped by the lies that one would want me to believe. You’re not good enough. You don’t have what it takes. You are really good at something else…go do that and don’t bother with this.

Or worse, the longer I wait, the more the lies begin to sound like truth. Things and people in my life resonate with the lies and they get louder and begin to fit a little more comfortably. Maybe they really aren’t lies. Maybe they are truth.

But, then I write and I know. I speak and I know. I read and I know. I know deep in my core that I am called to get up off the curb of life and stop waiting for the mail lady to bring me the mail.

It’s time to write, to show and not tell, to share with the world. I have a story. And it needs to be heard. My voice matters in this world full of distractions and naysayers.

And, I already have everything I need. I want to risk it all.

If I don’t, then I will grow old sitting on the curb. I have to risk it all.

It’s a huge risk, but it gets a little easier every day.

So here goes. I am hitting PUBLISH.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “5 minute Friday: Risk

  1. Love, love, LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But then, you already knew that!!!!! I want you to read this post every time you have doubts. And then you can read my comment if you need encouragement! Love you, Lizzie and PLEASE keep writing, okay?!!!

  2. I love your courage. Keep writing!

  3. Cathy Williams

    Oh you you you…..You make me sick! I wish you would stay out of my head and thoughts. Back off!! …….
    Ok, that was my first thought to your writing this time and I wrote it without any overthinking, backtracking or editing……If I had of edited, it would read like this: “Oh Lizzie, your words of wisdom! It is as if you have read my mind and thoughts, You have encouraged me to take the challenge. You are so wonderful, I love you!” (oh, gag me!)
    Glad you know me and can really hear what I wrote. For other readers, close your mouths, for I know they fell open as you begin to read this reply. Read deeper…..

  4. Brandi

    Documenting what goes through our minds takes a lot of courage to publish…..thank you for sharing!!! It was great to meet you… 🙂

Leave a Reply

