3 years ago

Love so pure that you knew it without having to hear her say it.

Wise beyond her education and welcoming to all who broke biscuits dipped in molasses at her table.

I always felt right at home when I was with her.

So many of my childhood days were spent watching and learning at her feet.

I didn’t know it at the time, but she was one of the greatest teachers I would ever learn from.

To this day, three years later, I still think about dialing her number, 965-8259.

I know I can’t call, but I have the conversation in my head anyway.

Maybe she hears me. Maybe, just maybe, she knows how much she was loved.

Because, one thing’s for sure. I know she loved me.

Me and nanny – Christmas 2008

One day when I was 13 or 14, I was sitting with her in the heart of her home, the kitchen. She looked at me with her steel blue eyes and said, “Lizzie, you can be anything you want to be, girl.” She has no idea the impact those words had on my heart. 

And I know she would be humbled and proud, all at the same time.

I have hope eternal. Until we meet again, I have memories like this one that bridge the gap between me and her.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “3 years ago

  1. Just beautiful and soul sweet. Everyone should have someone say that to them when they are young. I think it would make such a difference.

  2. Cathy Williams

    There is no doubt you are her Grandaughter! You look just like her. When you spoke of her steel blues eyes, I felt your stare! : )
    She leaves behind a wonderful Christian legacy in you Lizzie, woman of God! ” Well, done Nanny! you good and faithful servant!”

  3. Such a sweet endearing post and a topic so close to my heart. I posted about the loss of my Gramma here: http://doshaughnessy.blogspot.com/search/label/gramma . She was not what most would call “sweet and charming”! She was raised in Brooklyn, NY and she was as tough as nails in many ways. But she exemplified resiliency and what we would call “chutzpa”! She lived by her own rules and it was the most amazing gift the Lord could have given me when I was able to lead her in prayer to Him at 85+ years old! What a blessing to have people from that generation in our lives. Such an impact they can have if we choose to let them. God bless your day and vision for your life!

  4. So sweet… I bet she’s waiting for the day that you can call her up again any old time…

Leave a Reply

