Letting Go

In my slowing down, I have seen and heard things that I haven’t even blinked at before. It has been refreshing to take more in by taking less on. Like breathing from my diaphragm instead of gasping from my throat.

Slowing down has also been a painful teacher in some ways regarding time. Time that never stands still. However, I can stand still as the tick tock continues. The hands of time that never stop their forward march.

As I continue to practice this discipline of slowing down, God has shown me a lot. More recently He has shown me that there are some things I have to let go of. Things that found their way into my backpack. Some on purpose that I invited in and others that tagged along looking for a host. 

Surrender and release. Give the air room to circulate through the ever-widening hole at the back of my throat and find my diaphragm.

Oh, the freedom of a deep breath. Some of you know, just like I do, the panic that consumes you when you can’t breathe.

But, when it hurts way down deep, we try to hold on with white knuckles. And the throat narrows. The chest tightens.

Hold on to what was or what we want or how we want it.

We hold it and squeeze it tight. Clutched to our chest like our whole life depended on that very thing. Nothing could be more important.

Nothing. Except maybe, letting go.

To whom or what are you holding on to? So tight that your chest aches and you forget to breathe. You know. And He knows. And He wants to take it for you. But, you have to be willing to give it to Him.

Sometimes it’s easier to just let go…give it to Him. Lay it down. Quit trying to make it right. Maybe, just maybe, He is trying to make room for more. And you are settling for less. Could it be?

He has shown me two things thus far. And, I have a choice to make. I can hold on to mediocrity and shallow breathing. Or by letting go, I can breathe in all that He has for me.

Yes, we have a choice to make. What choice will that be?

2 Comments

Filed under Devotionals, Quotes and Coaching Questions, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Letting Go

  1. staceydaze

    OH Lizzie. This was wonderful! I love the way you wrote it and the concept within it. Definitely something to take to heart.

Leave a Reply

