When you’re not so sure who to believe…

Hi! I am writing today for Five Minute Friday. Here is the prompt:

If you have five minutes, we have a writing challenge:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Please visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

Here is my offering for this challenge:

I could hardly believe my eyes and ears. Did she really say that? Maybe I misunderstood her. Or maybe she was referring to someone else.

No, I heard her. She did say that. Ouch. That hit me in my weak spot. I thought I had dealt with that years ago. Oh, wowzers. Where do I go from here? Do I confront her or do I sit here and wallow in my own salty tears and pride?

Have you ever been blindsided by someone’s words, or comments? Knocked backwards a few feet? Completely thrown off-balance?

I’m sure you have. You don’t live on an island by yourself. You live in relationship with people everyday. Maybe you would rather not, but since you do, I can almost guarantee that you’ve been hurt by someone else’s words.

And the human response is to want to hurt them back or shrink away from them and others who may do the same thing. Live small in an attempt to shelter your heart from pain.

Next time this happens to you, because it will (I promise!), I challenge you to do something different. Choose to bravely live large in your true identity. Don’t shrink back. It all comes back to what or Who you identify with. Do those words define you or do His words define you?

When I’m not so sure of who I am, I go back to how He identifies me.

I am His. Period. And nothing or no one can separate me from His love. It’s not even close.

From where do you get your identity? In comments and stats, or Truth?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “When you’re not so sure who to believe…

  1. I think I needed to read this today. Not so much right now dealing with the words of others, but their LACK of words causing me a mini-identity crisis. I am His.

  2. Oh, I get soo tired of being caught up in what other people say or think of me… just had one of those moments this morning… praying that I can remember HIS words and how they define me!

    thank you for your #FiveMinuteFriday words! 🙂

    • So very true, Julie Anne. I just blogged about the comparing game….a game we will never win. He is the only one who can give us life and define us and our worth! Thank you for reading!!

Leave a Reply

