My one thing…

I know you’ve been sitting on the edge of your seat since Sunday when you read about the Weekly Intention for this week. Waiting and about to pop because you want to know what my one thing is for this week.

Drum roll please!! No more delay!!

It’s pretty simple, folks. I am slowing down. Yes, me, Lizzie, slowing down. I do most everything fast, except for run. I am a solid 10 minute miler, but in every other area of my life, I am in hyper mode. Eating, sleeping, working, walking, talking, etc. Multitasking everywhere I go.

I am probably the main reason my son sees a speech therapist. He clutters his words together…because he talks too fast. His processing speed is much higher than his ability to produce language in an intelligible manner. Now, since he sees the best speech therapist in the world, Mrs. Renee, he has improved leaps and bounds. But, we have invested a lot of time and money teaching him how to ssssssllllllooooowwwww down.

So, now,  I am being more intentional about being slow. On purpose. And it makes realize just how not present to the present I am most of the time. I am like the professional pool player who has already run the 9-ball table in his or her mind before the little solid yellow #1 ball has been pocketed.

This is going to be hard. It will cost me something. I am fearing that I will be much less productive. But, the Lord keeps reminding me that I will gain more than I could ever lose. I am sure there is a reason why I rush through life…but that is a completely different post for another day!!

First things first. And, I will never have to worry about coming in last. 

 

I will keep you posted! The next installment of “Weekly Intentions” will post on Sunday. Also, if you haven’t already, please visit and like my new Kairos Coaching, LLC Facebook page. I would love to be able to keep you updated on all things Kairos via my Facebook page.

And, by the way, my amazing web designer is working on my new website. I cannot wait to reveal it to you in the weeks ahead. Thank you as always for reading. Blessed beyond measure and grateful to call you friend.

7 Comments

Filed under Quotes and Coaching Questions, Uncategorized

7 responses to “My one thing…

  1. Cathy Williams

    This is going to be fun to watch!!

  2. I think that sometimes we overprize productivity. It’s not always necessary to do it all, it’s simply necessary to do what you do well.

    I was talking with my husband recently about a possible company switch for his employment. There is a competing company that pays very well for his job niche (not that where we are now doesn’t pay well… but this place pays even more), and one of his peers recently made the switch. Now, this other company also demands A LOT OF TIME from its employees. And in typical provider-man fashion, he had dollar signs in his eyes, thinking of how much easier it would be to go on vacations and pay for proms and college and weddings. Our kids were playing and girl-screeching in the other room while we were talking, and I said “Yeah… I know,” and then I gestured to the other room and added, “But you’d miss all of this.”

    More, whether that’s time, activity, money, etc,… More doesn’t always mean better. 🙂 Enjoy your slowing-down time! It’s a good thing!

  3. See, I am the opposite. I need to speed up! Can we meet each other in the middle??!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

