Weekly Intentions: One Thing

One morning last week, I had to make a Wal-Mart stop. While in the check out line, I was taken back to my college days. The person in front of me was eating gummy bears by the handful and drinking a diet Mountain Dew. Yes, gummy bears and diet Mountain Dew belonged in their own food group when I was 20 years old. Some days this combo was lunch. And dinner. Yep…I know.

Back to the Wal-Mart check out line. The person in front of me was a baby strapped in the front of the cart…not more than 10 or 11 months old. Yes, a baby was eating gummy bears and drinking diet Mountain Dew. His mom was holding the diet Mountain Dew bottle and letting him drink it. He was also covered in a rash from head to toe.

It was not my place to judge or to say anything to this  mom. I am sure she was doing what she thought was good for her son. It was obvious that she cared for him and he seemed very happy. After she checked out, she bought him 3 cookies from a group raising money by selling home-baked goods. She handed him the cookies and he was stuffing one in his mouth on the way out the door.

I did the one thing I felt led to do. I prayed for her. That God would allow someone to come into her life the same way the He has allowed many people to cross my path and help me find a new way, a better way of eating and nourishing my body. I prayed that her little boy would grow up to be a healthy and strong man who loved his family and came to know God at an early age. That was my role in that short but fruitful exchange in the Wal-Mart check out line.

I have been there. Fat. Depressed. Self-loathing. 210 pounds. Feeding my soul through my mouth. Happiness in a cheeseburger or 3. Pseudo food is the ultimate adulterer. He will betray you. Every. Single. Time. I know. I courted him. And he left me. Fat and disgusted.

For those of you who didn’t know me then, but know me now, 16 years later, I know you are shaking your head. I will be 36 in a couple of weeks and I am 70 pounds shy of 210 pounds. How did it happen? By choosing one thing. And doing it over and over again, week after week, and month after month. Year after year.

That brings me to the Weekly Intention. What is one thing…one thing you want to change about your lifestyle this week? I would love to hear what you are willing to surrender, sacrifice, or attempt. Please comment or email about your one thing. I want to pray for you!! On Wednesday, I will post about my one thing…

 

“One day at a time, this is enough. Don’t look back and grieve over the past for it is gone. Do not be troubled about the future, for it has yet to come. Live in the present and make it so beautiful that it will be worth remembering.” Unknown author

 

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Weekly Intentions: One Thing

  1. Cathy Williams

    Finally, one of your blogs that I can answer without having to meditate, prayer about or “ignore”…. : ) Have already started on the one change in lifestyle…eating habits…..cutting back to almost no sugar and increasing the water intake significantly!!

    • Oh, that gave me a good laugh!! Yes, cutting back to almost no sugar was mine, too. Almost 3 months now. I know you will be successful!!

      • Cathy Williams

        Had my physical last week…the only things elevated were my triglycerides and weight…(groan) I am the only one on my shift that is on NO medications. My co workers (ages 33-53) are all on some kind of med for various needs…HTN to anxiety….I would be foolish not to try to take care of these things. God has & continues to bless me with good health!! (In spite of myself!! ) : )

      • Completely understand. I have been slack lately with exercise….jumping back on this this week. It may be my one thing, or maybe God has something else in mind. We shall see!

  2. So well written. I watched Food, Inc. Last night, and I was disgusted by the exploitation of farmers, especially since my dad is a farmer. My one thing this week is to give up soybeans in any form unless I know for sure they haven’t been genetically modified. I love your idea of one thing at a time. It makes change seem so less overwhelming. Thank you for sharing and encouraging me.

    • thank you, Suzanne. Yes, that is an eye opening movie. I feel horrible for farmers. It is becoming harder and harder for farmers to grow non GMO foods. I think of hard worker men and women, like your parents, who are being exploited and it makes me sick.

      Yes, one thing at a time. It helps me take small, but steady steps towards the goal. Thank you for reading!

  3. Very timely post! I love how you moved instantly in to action … to prayer … instead of so many other negative things. Just got a bunch of bad health news, so my one thing for this week is to move out of fear and worry and in to purposeful care for myself (and thus, my family). 🙂

    • Meg, I am so sorry. I will be praying for you. Please let me know if I can do anything else. It is SO very hard to not listen to the “what if’s” and trust in the truth. One is news, the other is God’s Word. Praying friend!!!!

  4. staceydaze

    Oh! This week I decided to be more intentional with my mornings. Running 3x a week and choosing my Bible to start the day with. Along with a cup of coffee, of course. 😀

  5. Wow, Lizzie! So many things I love about this. Oh, that we would all pray for others without judging (this will be something that I will continue to remember as I see things like this!). And thank you for sharing your weight issues honestly.
    I appreciate your words- as always!!!

  6. As a family, we have made a commitment to be more intentional about our activity level. Husband and I need it anyway, and our girls have all expressed a desire to get into better shape. So between the kids’ track practice, my linedancing classes, and Mom/Daughter C25K plans, we’re going after changing our winter lazy habits!

Leave a Reply

