Weekly Intentions: Forgiveness

Traveling along, cruising at 8 miles over the speed limit. BAM!!!! Suddenly, I am jolted awake, out of my blissfully ignorant road trip.

My clean little upper room was rattled this weekend. Not in a bad way. But in a way that is requiring something of me. Release. Surrender. And then praying for something. Let me explain.

I attended a retreat for the Way of Life Coaching, LLC, leadership team. We usually have one to two retreats per year for personal development, spiritual growth, and overall team leadership development. It is a phenomenal time of community, friendship, growth, and love. Oh yeah, I usually take lots of walks on the beach and learn a whole lot, too. Doesn’t sound too shabby, huh?

The director of Way of Life Coaching, LLC, Cheryl Scanlan, discussed forgiveness at length this Saturday. And, I left a changed woman. She challenged us to search our hearts and ask God to show us who we may need to forgive. Most of the time this is pretty obvious. But for me, I had a major revelation this weekend. Here is the question that brought me to my knees:

Who can you NOT pray for and ask God to pour blessings on?

So as I ponder this week and work through my list of 8 people, I kindly request that you consider this question in your own lives. I want to be free indeed and that means being able to forgive and ask God to pour blessings upon these 8 people. They will never know who they are, but I know and God knows, and my friend, that is all that matters.

“Even as the angry vengeful thoughts boiled through me, I saw the sin of them. Jesus Christ had died for this man; was I going to ask for more? Lord Jesus, I prayed, forgive me and help me to forgive him….Jesus, I cannot forgive him. Give me your forgiveness….And so I discovered that it is not on our forgiveness any more than on our goodness that the world’s healing hinges, but on His. When He tells us to love our enemies, He gives along with the command, the love itself.”

Corrie Ten Boom – The Hiding Place

17 Comments

Filed under Quotes and Coaching Questions

17 responses to “Weekly Intentions: Forgiveness

  1. Wow.. and I thought I was going to have a slow week…off to make my list. Hugs!

  2. Liz, I love this post. Some time back I had to make my list, and I had to journal a bit to get my prayers of blessing on my people before it became natural to ask God to pour out His blessings on them and me, filling all our hearts and lives with just what we need to grow more like Him. Thanks for sharing your experience. As I was thinking about your retreat, I realize what I miss most about work is that sense of community and belonging to a cause greater than self. Church is filling that need in me to a great extent. Keep the blogs coming!

    • Teresa, So very true! I cherish the community I have with these dear women. True sisters who cry together, pray together, and grow together. I am thankful for their love and support. I will be praying blessing upon 8 people this week!! thank you so much for reading! Lizzie

  3. Cathy Williams

    Okaaayyyyy……Ummm, well……Need to go chew for a while….and prayer….

  4. Cathy Williams

    Wait, Need to share an experience from work that flashed through as soon as I hit send on my previous reply….. Needed to look up a “client” in our database and in doing so, was cross referenced with another “client”. The deeds this 2nd client had done with the 1st one as an accomplice were horrific. I discovered the 2nd client has recently been diagnosed with a terminal illness and has 6-9 months to live. My first thoughts were “Good, serves this person right. It’s only fair.” But the Holy Spirit sent another thought literally shooting my spirit! “The person will split hell wide open too! I died for them too!!” I immediatly begin to prayer for the “client” asking God to send a witness to the person that will be effective. And not only had to forgive them but to ask forgiveness for my human thoughts as well….

    • wow…a true kairos moment. God is always at work…for our good. My heart aches for the moments when I have wished ill will or retribution on someone. If you have ever seen or experienced God’s wrath, you will NEVER ever want anyone to experience it. Thank you for sharing, friend.

      • Cathy Williams

        Wish I could say I “gladly” shared but that is far from the case. I have been humbled by the Holy Spirit in this matter. Forgiving tends to do that to a person……

  5. staceydaze

    That’s a great question to consider! I’ll give it some thought as well. THanks.

  6. Lori

    I must admit…I read this tonite and then immediately hit “done” and tried to distract my mind by scrolling through the numerous updates that I’d yet to catch up on fromy wall. But I had a hard time focusing. So I came back and read it again, hoping that ing second reading of your post, the pit in my stomach would at least feel smaller. You know me well enough to know that this isn’t a favorite topic of mine, but I can’t ignore the nauseous feeling that reading this gave me. I think that rather than writing a list, I’ll start with the first few that I tried to chase from my mind. This may be more than a week long assignment though, my friend. “I forgive them,” is much easier to say than “I’m going to pray for blessings to be showered upon them,” but (gulp), that’s probably a good indication of how true the easier statement to state really is. I think I’ll hold my “thanks, Lizzie” for now and wait until the concept has settled a bit more…

    • Oh, Lori! I know. I had the same gut reaction. “Really God? Isn’t fogiving them good enough??” I am proud of you for rereading this post and choosing to start small. Any step towards God is a HUGE step in my opinion. No need to offer any thanks to me. I am learning right along with you. So glad that God heaps His grace and mercy upon us. Love you, friend!!

      • Lori

        So…I tried. I did. I prayed the words, but since God sees my heart, I know that He knew the words were meaningless. And then I realized that I had to back up and begin praying for the desire to practice true forgiveness. Wow. God changes hearts quickly sometimes. I can’t say that I can check this off my list, but I do feel lighter. Baby steps…right?

      • Lori! Yes! baby steps are the best because it means you desire growth and change. And, real change happens in real people real slow!! SO VERY PROUD OF YOU!!!! You can be free from the past and all the pain/hurt involved. I want every one to be able to walk in that same freedom. Keep taking those baby steps, friend!! Love you!!

  7. Donovan

    Thanks for sharing the fruit of the weekend session Lizzie. It seems like the forgiveness piece should be so easy based on our knowledge of all we need to be forgiven for, but we seem to forget that sometimes when we need to put it practice. Definitely gave me a person immediately that I need to apply this to. Will pray for you and your list this week.

    • Thank you, Donovan! Life changing, for sure!! Thank you for praying on my behalf. Some folks are going to be blessed!! And, for that I am truly grateful. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

