Play?

Yes, that is an interesting blog title. Got you guessing??

Pausing to listen to an airplane in the sky, stooping to watch a ladybug on a plant, sitting on a rock to watch the waves crash over the quayside—children have their own agendas and timescales. As they find out more about their world and their place in it; they work hard not to let adults hurry them. We need to hear their voices.

Cathy Nutbrown
Contemporary British educational theorist

God is wooing me to play. Yes, to play. And, He has given me two precious children to emulate. It brings me to tears and I am so excited about this revelation and resurrection. I have big, big plans for play in the near future. And the world will be my playground.

Yes, God. I heard you years ago. I am now choosing to listen. Like I never have before. 

There is for many a poverty of play.

D.W. Winnicott
British pediatrician

Won’t you come play with me? We have kingdoms to save, creations to build, pictures to paint, valleys to explore, and all kinds of excitement around every corner. I promise to take my (our! love you, baby!!) Canon 7D with me to capture some of the fun. Even if you can’t join me, I will share the playful adventures with you as I go and grow.

Stay tuned tomorrow when I share the next Weekly Intention. Until then, play on!

The opposite of play is not work. It’s depression.

Brian Sutton-Smith
Contemporary American folklorist

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Play?

  1. Cathy Williams

    Hmmmm……….

  2. I’m right there with you! Writing is becoming one of my new forms of “play”.

  3. staceydaze

    It’s hard to play sometimes, but the reality is we have PLENTY of time to do it. Can’t wait to see your playing. 🙂

  4. Lori

    I wish I could “like” this about 15 times. I am incredi le fortunate to share a large percentage (as in…over 50%) of my awake time with a group of 2 year olds. I teach in a play based environment. I educate adults about the importance of play. But I’ve never been able to amswer the question of why play becomes less valuable as we age. I just don’t think it does. 🙂

Leave a Reply

