Weekly Intentions: Resurrection

“Do you wish to rise? Begin by descending. You plan a tower that will pierce the clouds? Lay first the foundation of humility.”
Saint Augustine 
Today has been a beautiful day filled with family and celebration. Two of my favorite things. In addition to celebrating the holiday this weekend, I have pondered the word resurrection.

 

The word resurrection means:

  • The act of rising from the dead or returning to life.
  • The state of one who has returned to life.
  • The act of bringing back to practice, notice, or use; revival.
  • from Latin resurrēctus, past participle of resurgere, to rise again.

I honestly believe that most of us are walking dead. Breathing, but not living. Existing from one to do list to another. Paying the bills, but not fully living.

I also believe that the first step in learning to live fully is becoming aware of what your life could look like. If you don’t have any idea what you desire or want your life to look like, you will continue going through the motions. Breathing, but not living.

God has brought me back from the dead. Literally and figuratively. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me (Galatians 2:20). And, I want to be awake for all that He wants me to experience.

The act of living intentionally requires you to become aware of who you are and what you desire your life to be. A resurrection of sorts.

The intentional assignment this week is to ask God to show you what He wants to resurrect in your life. I know what He is wooing me to resurrect. I can’t wait to share it with you later this week.   

Are you ready to rise again? What is God reviving in your soul and spirit?

Be prepared for a life altering exchange. He came, and died, and rose from the dead so that we could live life to the full, in Him. If that doesn’t excite you, you may need to be resuscitated!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

