Five Minute Friday – Gift

I am posting for 5 Minute Friday today. Won’t you join me? The challenge was to write for 5 minutes about the word “Gift…”:

Their faces twinkle, imitating the Christmas lights that dance on the window panes behind them. And, they can’t seem to stop smiling. Those grins are glued to their faces like the tape that holds the surprises at bay.

 
I have always loved Christmas, but when you get to experience it through a child’s eyes and imagination, it is exhilarating. It is all about the gifts.

 

We practice Advent and make ornaments each day to hang on our tree in anticipation of the Gift. My children can tell you Who we are celebrating when we make Him a cake for Christmas Eve celebration, but it is about the gifts under the tree. At 6 and 4 years old, who can blame them.
 

Living life through their eyes, gives me new perspective. This lens helps me unwrap the Gift with more anticipation than I have ever experienced.

 

Seeing them unwrap their gifts helps me experience Jesus in ways I could have never imagined. I am more thankful for the Gift of Jesus Christ than I have ever been. It is ALL about the Gift.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Gift

  1. With kids 8, 5, and 5, I totally get what you mean! (They were 7, 4, and 4 at Christmas). I especially love your descriptions in the first paragraph. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

