Weekly Intentions: Change

“We find time for the things that are important to us. Period.”  
Scott Douglas

Welcome back! Last Sunday, gratitude opened our lives to being thankful for people in our lives. I was amazed by the impact of 5 simple “thank yous”! How about you? 

Today, I am interested in what you would like to change. I know there are several things I want to change. I have heard the quote above by Scott Douglas numerous times. And it slaps me in the face every time. I make time for those things and people who are important to me. If it is not important, it falls off my desk (literally!).

Here is a list of the top 5 most important things in my life: God, my family, my friends, my career, and recreation. Now, let’s pretend for a minute. I give you my calendar. I ask you to look over the past 3 months and make a pie chart of how I spend my time. We can stop pretending now. Back to real life. I know, beyond any doubts, that the top 5 most important things that I mentioned above, would not fit into the pie chart in any mathematically correct way to show that they are the top 5.

Embarrassing? No. Reality? Yes!

That’s how I know I want to make some changes. We make time for those people/things that are important to us. Plain and simple.

Are you hungry for change in your life? Are you ready to be intentional about making a change?

So am I!!

Okay…this is hard for me because I am a night owl. I commit to being in bed by 10pm every night this week. Oh, my. I can’t believe I put that confession in cyberspace for all who read this blog. For someone who likes to say up l.a.t.e., this is going to be difficult. But, whoever said change is easy? If that was the case, we would all be perfectly content and not have to be intentional about making changes.

Are you wondering why I want to make this change if it is going to be painful and hard? Yeah, me too!! However, I know that I need 8 hours of sleep. I would also like to get up at 6am before my kids and read, drink a cup of coffee, organize my day, etc. I am tired of the helter skelter rush to be in the car by 8am to drive to school. It causes me stress. I don’t have any margin in the mornings.

In other words, the pay off of going to bed at 10pm will allow me to get up earlier. This in turn will help me start the day better and not in such a frenzy. I am tired of the frenetic pace. I want to breathe in the mornings. Do you see the cascade effect? My friends, when you change one thing, you change everything!

What do you want to change this week?

If you make a comment on my blog or my FB page by Wednesday, March 28th at midnight, about what you want to change, I will offer one random commenter a free 30 minute coaching session to focus on helping you make this change. Life can be different. And it can start today.

“Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you too, can become great. When you are seeking to bring big plans to fruition, it is important with whom you regularly associate. Hang out with friends who are like-minded and who are also designing purpose-filled lives. Similarly be that kind of friend to your friends.”  Mark Twain

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Weekly Intentions: Change

  1. Cathy Williams

    Oh, I too would like to get to bed at 10 pm and get up at 6 am!!! ….oh, wait, I don’t get off from work until 10:15pm….gonna have to find something else to change……….

  2. Readers – I encourage you to take advantage of this with Lizzie – as dear friend and fellow coach, I know that even one session can really help jump start lasting change!

  3. Pingback: Biscuits | "Seize the opportunities, redeem the time…"

  4. Lisa Elliott

    I already made the change and got my prize, so please don’t enter my name, but do please let me steal that Mark Twain quote. I know some that could really use that wisdom right now.

  5. Yes! Yes! Yes! Right there with you!

  6. Ann Dillon

    Well Lizzie…I could sure use this coaching session. I see a lot of comments on trying to loose weight and healthy eating. I think every time I talk with a friend this is the number one topic. My course of action is somewhat the same along with building a new business. I am very much interested in winning this free coaching session! Ann

    • Hi, Ann! SO good to hear from you!! I think of you often. Eating healthy and how to maintain it is a fun topic to coach around. You are a fantastic business woman and I can see this being very successful venture for you! Stay tuned in the morning and I will announce a winner!

      grateful,
      Lizzie

Leave a Reply

