Weekly Intentions: Gratitude

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”
Howard Thurman
Happy dance!! That’s what that quote makes me want to do … all night long! But before I sign off to go do my happy dance, let me introduce you to a new series that starts tonight: “Weekly Intentions”. God gave me this idea this weekend and I can’t get it off my radar. Every time my mind is quiet, the ideas rain down like torrents. Let me explain by sharing some of my heart.
 
I believe that most of us live on autopilot. We snooze through our life without much thought to where our plane might land. We are rarely aware of what is happening in the moment. We react instead of respond. We are merely spectators in the game of life and don’t want to be bothered with things that will require us to get off the bleachers.
 
However, I believe there is a better way to live … with intention. When we are intentional in our choices, we are aiming for something instead of shooting in the dark. When we take time to design our life instead of live it haphazardly, something inside of us changes. We become fully alive. We unearth the desires of our hearts that have been there all along.
 
When we come alive, we become dangerous. Dangerous to our enemy, which is why he would like for us to remain dead.
 
You are not here by accident. Are you ready to wake up and live intentionally? I love dangerous people!!!
 
This week’s intentional challenge involves gratitude: Contact 5 people in your life and tell them thank you for something that they did or are doing for you. You can call them, send them a card, email, send them flowers, etc. I already have my list of 5 people … who will be on your list?
Every breath, every step we take comes from God. I am thankful for you, my readers. You have blessed me so …
 
I can’t wait to hear about your week filled with gratitude. Contact me in some way this week and let me know what happens when you start to live intentionally with a gracious heart.  
 
“Awareness requires a rupture with the world we take for granted; then old
categories of experience are called into question and revised.”
Shoshana Zuboff
12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Weekly Intentions: Gratitude

  1. Lisa Elliott

    Just watch the lava flow……..

  2. Cathy Williams

    oh, Lizzie, why must you put me in such deep moments of examining, assessing…….after which I must come up with a diagnosis and treatment plan…………oh, gee…………..Oh Wait!! Thank you Lizzie for being courageous with your thoughts, words, writing!! (ok, that is one of my five!!)

  3. Lizzie,
    What a great idea! I’m doing one person per day this week. Day One – done!

  4. Ok, so just to share a good laugh with you … I sent an email to a friend telling her how she blesses me and accidentally …. sent it to her husband. I corrected the error and managed to give him a good laugh this morning, too! Ah, grace!

  5. Day Two: Done – but the least in my head keeps growing on those to thank, encourage, and love …. 🙂

    Good things!

  6. This reminds me of something I heard a pastor say once…”Everyone ends up somewhere. Few people end up somewhere on purpose.” It was all about being intentional. Great idea! It has pushed me to do something that has been on my mind for weeks to do regarding showing gratitude to someone else.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Intentions: Change | "Seize the opportunities, redeem the time…"

Leave a Reply

