“Every step I take”

Taking the next step at the finish line.

Taking the next step at the finish line.

The happy ones are the thankful ones … thankful for what they have and have not. Those with ungrateful hearts choose to focus on what they have not, and therefore, often drown in self-pity. Here is one of the quotes I will meditate on tomorrow as I run 13.1 miles:

“I realize that every step, every breath, and every PR is a gift from God.”

Amish runner, Running with the Amish, Runner’s World, April 2012

I know all too well that the ability to move can be taken in an instant. There will be no PR’s tomorrow. My PR’s in half-marathons are probably behind me in this life. But, it won’t be about my time as I cross the finish line. It will be about “every step I take” {cue the music!}.

In your wildest dreams, what is something you would like to accomplish in the next 6 months? The conveyor belt of life will not make it easy to accomplish, but remember, every step along the way will bring you closer to the finish line. I would be so honored to cheer you along! Comment and let me know what I am cheering for!!

“Distance is one of the only things in life you truly earn. Anyone can give you nine pies, but no one can give you nine miles. Nine miles you have to take.
Marc Parent, My Sweaty Little Secret, The Newbie Chronicles, Runner’s World

 

“God made me for a purpose. He made me for China, but He also made me fast and when I run, I feel His pleasure. To give it up would be to hold Him in contempt. You were right, it’s not just fun. To win is to honor Him.” Eric Liddell, Chariots of Fire Film, 1981

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to ““Every step I take”

  1. Cathy Williams

    Ok, 2 posts back to back of such intensity…Not fair!! I have not had chance to finish processing the last one! And working the weekend does not give me free brain time!! And you know I need l-o-t-s of time for brain work!! : )

Leave a Reply

