Death and Life.

The words were harsh. Painful, yet familiar. I had heard them before, but not in a long time. From a stranger this, today. I am sure he had no idea the power of his simple sentence:

“Boy, you are hard to please.”

Something as harmless as a drink order turned into an assault from the other side. His words still sting. I was surprised by the medium, but I shouldn’t have been surprised by the originator. But, it got me today.

“Dear friends, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal that has come on you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you.” I Peter 4:12  

Our words are powerful live givers or life takers. And trying to contain our tongues is difficult. Something like trying to lasso a tornado.

Sometimes I wish I had a muzzle. Something to harness my tongue. Keep me from throwing darts. Inflicting soul pain. Wounds that take the longest to heal. If they ever do.

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue…” Proverbs 18:21

Death and life.

I can either help life spring forth or cause death’s sting to be felt by way of my tongue.

“Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear.” Ephesians 4:29

As I pondered the exchange that took place this morning, a battle roared on in my head today. I am mentally exhausted after wrestling with the lies today. But, I am choosing to rest in my Father’s love tonight. I may be hard to please by some standards, but by God’s standards I am His chosen and precious child. Made by Him and for Him. And, He’s not hard to please. He only wants me. All of me.

Lord, help us to hear your voice over the voices of this world. May our words be uplifting and life-giving. Help us to not speak if our words would inflict soul pain. May your healing balm cover those wounds of the soul as we desire to give grace and life to others.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

