… Selah …

Before I get out of the shower, while the sun is still perched beyond the horizon, 300 thoughts have wound their way through my morning routine.

Breakfast. Clothing. To wash my hair or not. Lunch for Callie. Medicine. Coffee! Deadlines. Clients. My calendar. New opportunities. Writing topics. Sore muscles from a run. Did I put the clothes in the dryer? Call dad. Call the pediatrician. Take chicken out of freezer.

Shower’s done and hair is washed. Coffee pot has been turned on, and the thoughts continue to fight for space in my brain.

A never-ending cascade of mental snapshots that intrude into the quiet stillness of my morning. I am the only one up. Oh, how I love to pause and watch my babies sleep, all three of them!

But the thoughts continue.

Selah. Pause. Stop. Breathe.

What makes this so hard for me? For you?

How do I turn off my brain? Now that’s a rhetorical question if I have ever heard one. It is a machine that only rests when I sleep. Thankfully. Maybe that’s why I covet my sleep?

Selah. To pause and reflect. To stop whatever you are doing or thinking about and ponder something else. More deeply, with more intention.

In a way, it means to get a handle on your thought life. To tell it what to do instead of it dictating your haphazard day.

I believe that this is critical. If we can master our thought life, our emotions and behaviors will fall in line.

That’s what I am reflecting on today. What about you?

Selah, friends.

As a man thinketh in his heart so is he.Proverbs 23:7

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2

2 Comments

Filed under Devotionals, Quotes and Coaching Questions

2 responses to “… Selah …

  1. Cathy Williams

    You mean the machine called the brain really does shut down when we sleep!!???? Somebody forgot to tell mine that! : )
    The vivid dreams sure give me lots of reasons to stop and say Selah. The best Selah moments are when I get the intrepretation to the dreams!

  2. lol…no joke, I thought about you when I was writing this…the reason I wrote “thankfully” is because I know that some people still think in their sleep!! Maybe I do, but I don’t remember it if I do!!

Leave a Reply

