Ending Well

2012 is upon us. Ready or not, in a few short hours, a new year will dawn. So will many resolutions and attempts at living life a little differently.

As a coach, I work with clients on goals year round, not just on January 1st. It is by far the best job on the planet. I am only a little biased. If you do have a new years resolution in mind, here are a few insights to help you achieve your goals and dreams:

1. Think habit, not practice. When you turn an occasional practice into an everyday habit, you will meet your goals. One step in front of the other finishes the marathon.

2. When your habit falls off the kitchen counter or onto gym floor, don’t lose hope. Tomorrow is a new day. And January 2nd works as well as January 1st.

3.  Enlist others to help you. Independence is great on July 4th. Not so much on January 1st.

4. And perfectionism isn’t very helpful on any day of the year, so lose this old enemy immediately.

5. Set short-term goals within your long-term goals. Rome wasn’t, nor were your old habits, built in a day.

6. Reward yourself along the way. Starvation diets never work unless your end goal is death.

7. Just get started…most goals don’t make it past the pen and paper phase. What is one thing you can do right now to make one of your goals for 2012 a reality?

8. End well. One of my goals for 2011 was to write more. I am ending well since it is December 31st at 8:40pm and I am writing my last blog for the year. It feels great to end well. I have no doubt you will end well, too.

Speaking of writing, I am working on a book project with my coach, friend, and business partner, Cheryl Scanlan (www.wayoflifecoaching.com). If you have missed reading my blogs of recent (I would like to think this is the case!!), I have been busy writing, just not here! I cannot wait to share the fruit of our labors in the near future.

Thank you for reading this blog in 2011. I hope to continue to provide you with coaching insights, devotionals, book reviews, and resources in 2012. And as always, if there is anything you would like me to blog about, please let me know!!

Happy New Year!

Ending well,

Lizzie

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

