Hidden Treasure

It comes in many shapes and sizes. Can be wrapped up in a box and topped with a sparkling red bow. Elicits great emotion. Can be found most anywhere, and can include most anyone.

What might you ask has this much capacity?

Treasure.

Ponder as you read this parable:

“A man was walking slowly through a field. As he was looking down at the dust he was making with each stride, he noticed something sticking up out of an earthen grave. He took his staff and poked at the corner of a wooden box. He stooped down, pausing first to look around to see if he had an audience. He got on his hands and knees and started digging with his hands. Within moments, he had made the discovery of a lifetime, hit the jackpot! Much to his surprise, he had discovered treasure that had been hidden in the field. He was so full of joy and excitement that he dug a hole, twice as deep as the original hole and hid the treasure again. He ran from the field with great anticipation. Within days, he gathered all that he owned, and sold it for a profit so that he could buy the field where he found and hid the treasure again. This treasure is like the Kingdom of Heaven.” (My lengthy paraphrase of Matthew 13:44)

Matthew 13:44 (NLT) “The Kingdom of Heaven is like a treasure that a man discovered hidden in a field. In his excitement, he hid it again and sold everything he owned to get enough money to buy the field.”

What do you treasure? What or who do you value above anything or anyone else? Where you spend your resources (time, money, etc.) most often reveals what you treasure. Jesus tells us that wherever our treasure is, our heart or desire or passion will surely follow (Matthew 6:21).

Jesus treasures me and you, so much that He gave all. He followed his desires and passions straight to the cross. Just like the man in the field, who sold all so that he could buy the field and the treasure.

You, yes you, are a treasure to Him. How does it feel to be treasured?

When I walk in this truth, it feels amazing. When I listen to other things and certain people (which are often louder and very persistent), I feel like the red-headed stepchild. When this happens, I have to remind myself about who I am and where my value comes from. It does not come from my bank account, or the square footage of my house, or the number on the scale, or the brand of clothes my children wear, or from my friends, or from my job description or credentials.

I must choose to rest in the truth of who I am in Christ. I am a treasure to Him and so are you!

A great resource for learning more about your Identity in Christ, go to this link http://www.ficm.org/index.php?command=textwhoamiinchrist by Neil Anderson and Freedom in Christ Ministries.

Leave a comment

Filed under Resources

Leave a Reply

