Shifting Shadows

My home office window faces due West, where the glorious sun waves goodbye to me each day as she continues Westward. On her way around the earth, she casts her spell on the mighty oak trees in my yard. Their golden and bronze leaves dance on my wall. As I sit in my office typing this post, they are dancing.

Mesmerizing, mysterious, almost spell binding.

Shifting shadows, dark and ambiguous.

Casting their spell on whomever lingers.

When I get mesmerized by the shadows of life, their friends are sure to follow: doubt, anxiety, fear, comparing, {fill in the blank}, etc.

Shadows in life are just that, shadows. They are not the real thing. They attempt to distract us from seeing clearly, from seeing the truth, the real image, not the shadow.

I think C.S.Lewis says it best in the book written about his love affair and marriage to Joy Davidman: Shadowlands: The True Story of C. S. Lewis and Joy Davidman: “Why love if losing hurts so much? I have no answers any more. Only the life I have lived. Twice in that life I’ve been given the choice: as a boy and as a man. The boy chose safety, the man chooses suffering. The pain now is part of the happiness then. That’s the deal.”

When you are in the shadowlands of life, there are no easy answers. If they do exist, please inbox me with them! Sometimes for me, the only answer is Truth. Sometimes I only need to sit still and trust Him and His promises. He has never lied to me, nor can He.

Instead of being misled and mesmerized by the shadows of this life, I can cling to Truth when all else is dark and full of shadows. The pain doesn’t go away, but I know I am not alone in my pain. And pain is often times what I need to make changes. Changes that heal and give life.

“Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see a shadow.” Hellen Keller

2 Comments

Filed under Devotionals

2 responses to “Shifting Shadows

  1. Cathy Williams

    Often while in the shadows of life, the dance of our souls takes on a very slow rhythm. It is during this slow dance, He holds us close and we press our face into His chest. If we listen close we can hear Him humming the song of His heart to the hurt of our heart. …..If we continue to dance…..

Leave a Reply

