Weeds or Flowers?

Everyone knows what I am referring to when I describe the pesky yellow wild plants that decorate our lawns. The ones that are so difficult to eradicate. Yes, dandelions. You have to practically dig them up to remove them completely. The root has to be removed, not just the plant that rests above the surface of the soil.

We make an attempt every year to rid our yard of them, but we never succeed. The funny thing is that our children seem to enjoy our folly. They enjoy picking me a bouquet of the brightly colored wild plants. My son is on a mission almost every day to find me at least one or two weeds.

This was my gift last week:

The irony in this gift of love is sweet. My son loves me and he wants to give me gifts. There is an abundance of yellow wild plants in our yard that resemble flowers. He, in his innocence, trots around our yard in search of the gift…a gift from his heart. He gives me weeds and I accept them as I would a $100 bouquet of freshly cut flowers.

As with so many things in life, it is the thought that counts when it comes to gifts and gift-giving. There is more to learn from this story, though.

When is the last time you wanted something special? When is the last time you asked God for something that meant a lot to you?

Remember the last time you prayed and your prayers were answered another way…when you got weeds instead of flowers?

Or maybe you thought He gave you weeds…when He was really giving you the best flowers. When God answers our prayers and gives us gifts, He is the best gift-giver. No one knows us like He does. No one knows the future like He does. He is omniscient. He knows ALL. He knows exactly what we need and when we need it.

Recently, we were praying earnestly for God to give us a gift that would be a positive change for our family. We had tried it on for size, put it on lay away, and already claimed it as ours. We had a coat hanger waiting for it in our family closet…and God chose to give us something else. Weeds, so we thought. But as we tried the “weeds” on for size they started to look more and more like a precious gift of love from our Father. The keys to the future do not belong to us. He gave us weeds according to our here and now calendar, but looking back, He was a gracious Father to us once again.

So when it comes to the weeds or flowers in life, it is a matter of perspective. Remember that sometimes when you think you are getting weeds, they are really gifts of love given by the Lover of your soul. Enjoy the dandelions in your life friends…

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” – James 1:17

Occasionally, I will do a book review on my coaching blog. In the running theme of good gifts, if you haven’t read “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp, do yourself a huge favor and buy two copies. One for you and one to give to a dear friend. Your life will be changed for the better.

One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are  -<br />
By: Ann Voskamp</p>
<p>

5 Comments

Filed under Devotionals

5 responses to “Weeds or Flowers?

  1. Contessa

    Wow! I just bought that book tonight because someone strongly suggested it to me last night. Can’t wait to read it and glad you are starting this blog!

  2. Love this post! I just finished the book, and I am about to read it again. And you are so right about buying two copies! Christianbook.com had it for $10. I am stocking up for Christmas.

    • Thanks, Jenn! I love to receive books as gifts and anyone who receives this book as a gift, is about to embark on an amazing journey! Thank you for reading. I know you can relate to the sweet gifts that our babies give us!!

  3. Completely agreed! This was one of the best books I’ve read. Certainly one to go back on a regular basis!

Leave a Reply

