Confessing is never fun…

Well, I have a confession to make. Instead of dropping bags off at my local Goodwill today, I loaded bags from the Goodwill into my car. I almost felt like I was cheating and eating dessert before dinner. Then I heard the word BALANCE dancing in my head. Thank you, Lord, for that sweet gift of grace. It is all about balance.

After donating now 36 bags of {use your imagination and insert any word you like} to Goodwill this year, I can shop there and not have to think about what I need to get rid of in order to give myself permission to bring more things into my house. One of my organizing rules is for every one thing I bring into my house, I have to get rid of another thing. Here is my list of Goodwill treasures purchased today:

14 children’s books (an unnamed friend of mine told me that you can buy really great and gently used kids books at Goodwill for really cheap…she was right!!)

1 LL Bean winter Jacket

1 Mudcats hat for Sean (before you freak, it is a fisherman style hat that can be laundered!!)

I got all of the above for $20 and some change. And, since I donated almost 30 books from my personal book collection this year, I felt great about buying new books for Callie and Sean. Once Callie reads a book, she memorizes the words which means it is no longer a challenge for her. I will save her easy readers for Sean.

I am most excited about the LL Bean jacket that I paid $12 for. I priced it online and it sells for $99. It has very little wear and will get lots of great use this winter!

And of course, the trip to Goodwill would not be complete without a 75 cents Mudcats hat. Sean has been enthralled with baseball after we went to a Mudcats game this summer. It’s the little things in life that make it so sweet!!

So, there’s my confession for the day…what’s yours?? Keep it clean!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

