One Year Old

Well, my blog is officially one year old! It’s hard to believe that a year has passed since I started blogging. Callie’s venture into Kindergarten spurred me on to keep a memoir of sorts for our family and especially our children to look back on. I attempt to keep a paper journal for each of my children, but the entries are hit and miss. I much prefer the blogging route! I have met many new blogging friends along the way and it has been fun, insightful, and refreshing.

So, what’s the blog topic today? It brings us full circle. My sweet and adventurous little girl starts 1st grade this week. I am sure there will be tears and Kleenex (and not just the ones that are on her supply list for school). Her going to school this year is a bit different from last. I have tears in my eyes even as I type. I love spending time with each of my children and family is so important to me.

Callie has changed so much in a year. The innocent little Kindergartener I had last August has seemed to blossom over the past year in ways that I could have never imagined. She has learned so much and is now able to read to me…such an accomplishment, but bittersweet. Just another sign that her wings are getting bigger and one day very soon, she will leap and fly from the nest. I still read to her and probably always will. There’s something very special about pillow time at night when I read to my kids. There is nothing bad in the world when we are together under the covers with our books.

We packed so much into the summer of 2011 and it is coming to a close. The memories we made this summer will always make me smile when I think upon them. We went to the beach and chased seagulls, watched a sea turtle excavation, boogie boarded, built sand castles, and took long walks searching for coveted sea glass. We went to Washington, DC and toured our nation’s capitol. We spent many hours at our pool and Callie finally grew tall enough to get a stamp to go on the slide. She was ecstatic! We spent lots of time with friends and made some new ones. We also worked very hard on reading, phonics, and sight words. Yes, we had a great summer.

Each day is precious. My dad used to always say and still reminds me that as a parent, “the days are long, but the years are short”. My dad is a smart man. It seems like just yesterday that I walked Callie into her Kindergarten classroom. The unknown lay ahead, but through it all, God was with us. And He will be with us on Thursday when I walk her into her new 1st grade classroom. She is so proud and I am SO very proud of her.

Callie, chase your dreams until you reach them and then dream new ones. I love you and will always be your #1 fan. Go get’em girl!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “One Year Old

  1. Kristin

    I love that quote…”the days are long but the years are short”. I can totally relate to that TODAY–our first day of school and Allen’s first day away from homeschooling after 9yrs. at home! No tears, though, surprisingly…most of those were shed during the process of the decision. Thankfully today has brought peace and acceptance and a trusting in God’s plan for my young man! Ok, so I’m sitting here on pins and needles waiting to hear how his first day went…but other than that all is well! 🙂

    • aww, Kristin! Thank you. So glad that you had a good first day back. Hope that Allen’s first day at NRCA was awesome!! You are a fantastic mother and I am so glad that you have peace and acceptance through the power of our amazing Father. Love you friend!!

  2. Ana

    it wouldn’t be that long when your baby would be on her own . keep spending more time with her. cherish every moment.
    when my daughter erin decided she ‘ll go to LA and live by herself there, i cried but couldn’t do anything !
    until now, i go to her room and cry because i miss her a lot..

    • Oh, I know!! My dad used to tell me that when I left for college, he would walk by the door of my room and cry. It is hard to see our babies grow up. Thank you for the reminder to cherish every moment!! Watching a child grow and learn is one of God’s special blessings!! At least you have a place to say in LA!!! She picked a great city!!

Leave a Reply

