Bowl Full of Cherries

My children love cherries, but cherries (organic and traditional) are very expensive…to the tune of $6.99 per pound for organic cherries! Yes, you read that correctly. And since we are still budgeting and trying to stay in the black versus the red, I don’t buy them very often. However, that was not the case today!! I bought an entire case of cherries…yes, a case or 18 pounds!!  A case sounds like a little less than 18 pounds.

That would normally be 18 x $6.99 = $125.82, a definite budget breaker. But today, I got 18 pounds of organic cherries for 18 x $2.99 = 53.82 x .90 = 48.44. Now for non math folks like myself, that previous sentence just did not register. Let me explain. Whole Foods had their organic cherries on special today only for $2.99 per pound. When you buy a case of anything from Whole Foods, they give you 10% off the case. Therefore, I got my cherries for $2.69 per pound before taxes.

Okay, my head hurts. Please don’t check my math! Enough math for now. So, what does one do with 18 pounds of cherries??

You end up with two very happy children, a happy neighbor, 18 half pints of cherry marmalade, an ice tray full of cherry juice to freeze and use as a natural food coloring agent, and two very large bowls of leftover cherries. I may have to try my hand at cherry pie tomorrow!

After I washed the cherries and started to pit them with my very nifty cherry pitter (an absolute must when you have 18 pounds of cherries to pit), I had a little helper wander into the kitchen. For every cherry she handed me to pit, she stuffed one into her mouth. Needless to say, my production slowed down quite a bit…that is until she got bored and continued on to the next adventure.

Speaking of adventure, as I was processing all the cherries today, I amassed a large bowl full of cherry pits and stems. You know you see the irony in this. Sometimes life is an adventure, full of good things like a bowl full of cherries:

And sometimes, life is like a not so good adventure and resembles a bowl full of pits and stems:

wherever you are along life’s path, don’t forget that you can’t end up with this:

unless you are able to endure the seasons of pits, stems, and the heat required to refine you.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.” James 1:2-5

Thank you for reading and if you have any cherry recipes, send them my way!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Bowl Full of Cherries

  1. What a pretty reminder! I love how you put this all together and gave me a sweet perspective I’m apt to miss when I have pits and stems in life!

  2. Thanks Cindy! So sorry about your freezer…definitely a pits and stems kind of moment!! Hope you did lose too much food. Glad you are back home safe.

  3. Lori

    Your pictures made me hungry! They made me so hungry that I had to wander into my kitchen to eat some of my own cherries. I don’t have 18 pounds, though. I have 2 pounds, one of black cherries, and one of Rainier Cherries. I, however, paid $2.99/ pound since I didn’t get a whole case!!!

    • Lori, you make me laugh! So glad you were able to grab some cherries at such a great price. The cherry marmalade that we made should come with a warning label it is so good!! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

