Book Hoarder

When I was a little girl, my mom and dad would often find me up way past my bedtime under the covers with a flashlight in my hand. No, I wasn’t scared of the dark. I was reading illegally!

I don’t really remember when or how I learned to read…I am sure it was sometime during Kindergarten and 1st grade. I do remember how much I loved to get lost in a good book and leap into whatever adventure was on the next page. We went to the library often on Saturday mornings and I would have most of my books read before the weekend was over.

Now that my daughter is an emerging reader, I get to share my love of books with her. I read two books last week and I am ready to read something a little different from my most recent exploits. I am going to start reading the Chronicles of Narnia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Chronicles_of_Narnia) this week.

Being a book worm has its advantages, but there are problems. Reading requires a few things: time, books, sitting down, a quiet space, etc. As a mom with two young children, the time, sitting down, and quiet space components can be hard to come by. However, I usually find a way to carve reading into my schedule.

That leaves books…I own hundreds of books. And I love each and every one of them. Seriously. They are like family. I love the smell and feel of books. I can remember where I read a certain book. Does the diagnostic term “book hoarder” exist? Ha!!! If it does, then I just might meet the criteria!

That brings me to a new piece of technology called a “Nook” or a “Kindle”. I am sure the Product Development teams for both of those mega billion dollar companies could have been a little more creative, but none the less. My dear, sweet husband has volunteered on several occasions to buy one for me. Mother’s day, my birthday, and our Anniversary all fall within about 6 weeks of each other. I could easily have my own electronic toy that would help me recover from my most recent diagnosis of a “book hoarder”.

Kindle Video

And I just can’t fathom ever owning one.  Never say never…the jury is still out on this one. Maybe if they could create a “Nook” or “Kindle” that smelled like a book then…well…probably not.

My love of books will probably never end. I have several friends who own the aforementioned electronic toys…they seemed to transition from REAL books to the fake kind seamlessly. Maybe there is hope for me! But, until then, I will keep amazon.com in business.

What’s on your summer reading list? I will keep you posted on the Narnia adventure I am starting. Bon voyage!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Book Hoarder

  1. Cathy Williams

    Lizzie,
    You will love Narnia! I read them with my son. We had a great time sharing the adventure! I am curently reading True Discipleship by William MacDonald and 2 new books waiting….
    Enjoy!!
    Cathy Williams

  2. Lori

    I used to get into a lot of trouble for reading by flashlight in my bed, too!!! I got the Narnia series for Christmas and was SO excited. Quiet space is easy for me to find in the evenings. Time, however, seems to be my missing component. Once I find my way into a quiet space, sleep seems to happen much faster than I am able engage in reading…Maybe I’ll be inspired to make it happen! The Narnia series was one of my favorites when I was growing up!

    • lol! Everytime I see a flashlight, I think about those days of my childhood! Can’t wait to read Narnia. I hear you on the sleep component. I love sleep, too! And there are nights that I give in and have my adventure in dreamland!

Leave a Reply

