Noise

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma–which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”   Apple Computer Founder, Steve Jobs

I have been pondering this quote for some time. We hear a lot of noise as we eat breakfast, drive to work, play with our kids, wait in carpool line, etc. Sometimes it is hard to hear our own heart song or God’s small still voice because the noise is so loud. And then there are times when we truly waste our days trying to live up to someone else’s expectations or ideals, also known as noise.

I had a recent example in my own life where I knew exactly what God wanted me to do in a certain situation, but I listened to the other noise in my life for a few days. It is easier to sleep walk through life sometimes. You know what I mean. It is easier to sing with the choir than it is to break out and sing a solo.

But there is a part of me that is a rebel. Someone who wants to color outside the lines. Lose my religion for sake of gaining my life in Christ. My soul aches for what is real and right and alive. So when I chose to mute the external and internal noise, I chose to be obedient to what I knew God was saying to me. Then and only then, did I have peace about the situation. Who knew that in losing something, I could gain so much?

There is a song by Sara Groves that talks about someone who was hiding and finally decided to show up for the reality known as her life. 

The chorus is as follows:

“There are so many ways to hide
There are so many ways not to feel
There are so many ways to deny what is real
And I just showed up for my own life
And I’m standing here taking it in and it sure looks bright”

Here is the link to the rest of the lyrics:  

http://www.saragroves.com/lyrics/addtothebeauty/justshowedupformyownlife/

You may not even realize you are sleep walking. Noise, what noise?? I don’t hear anything…that is a good clue that you may be hearing some noise! Here are some questions to help you drown out the noise so you can show up for your own life before it’s too late:

Where are you “sleep walking” through life? What do you use as your “sleeping pill”?

Where is God calling you to sing a solo? What or who are you waiting on to give you permission to live your life?

Quit hiding…give yourself permission to feel and experience what is real in your soul. You may experience pain, but you will also fully experience love. To feel is a good thing. It is what we choose to do with our feelings that give them a bad reputation. Let yourself go there. You can’t hide from God…He already knows and loves you anyway. Trust His goodness and His mercy, dear friend. He loves you!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Noise

  1. Meg

    Lizzie,
    Yes!

    You have so many wonderful things to offer that are uniquely you!!

    Can’t wait to hear more about the “living” that you are stepping into!

    — Meg D.

    p.S. I love this song by Sara Groves too!

Leave a Reply

