Love

When I think about Mother’s Day, the word that comes to mind is simply love. The word love is used so casually that it can easily lose some of its meaning. However, as a mother, love has taken on a completely different and much deeper meaning for me.

When I had children of my own, my capacity to love grew exponentially. I saw dimly before, but after having a child who is completely dependent upon you for the first few years of her life, the light started to get brighter. It was only after I had Callie and then Sean that I began to understand God’s love for me on a much deeper level.

Before I gave birth, I knew God loved me and everyone else. I was no different from His other children. Boy, was that thought completely wrong and misleading.

God used my children to show me how He loves me. May I share some examples?

1. When my children hurt, I hurt. I have cried more since having children than in all the 29 years prior to children combined. John 11:35 says that “Jesus wept” when Mary came to Him weeping because her brother Lazarus was dead. God doesn’t want to see us suffer and it pains Him when we do suffer. He, being sovereign, allows suffering for our benefit. Much like I allow suffering/pain/disappointment when I don’t let my children have all the chocolate they want and go to bed at midnight. It is for their good, even though they may not think so!

2. Because I love my children, I will stand in the gap for them and fight for them. God loves my children and says in Matthew 18: 1-6 that “whoever causes them to stumble, it would be better for him that a heavy millstone be hung around his neck, and that he be drowned in the depth of the sea.” Wow…I think that qualifies for standing in the gap!  

3. Without blinking an eye, I would die for my children. Jesus died for you and for me. “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life” (John 3:16). He LOVES me!

As God has so graciously blessed me as a mother, I have grown in my love for Him and I more deeply understand His love for me. God has given me a great example of what this looks like. When I go to Callie’s school to volunteer and open the door to her classroom, she springs from her seat and leaps over to give me a great big hug. She LOVES me! She is my child and she knows she is my child. None of the other children spring forth from their seats to greet me even though they are happy to see me. She is my beloved daughter and I am her beloved mother. The difference is in the relationship we have as mother and daughter. A synergistic relationship where we know whom we belong to.

I am His Beloved and He is mine. Also, a synergistic relationship where I know who I belong to. May you continue to grow in your love of our Father and may you continually receive His love for you, His beloved child.

Happy Mother’s Day!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

