Obituaries

I am one of those weird, eccentric, morbid, {insert your own adjective here} people who like to read the obituaries. I look forward to getting my Sunday N&O and turning to the “Triangle & State” section almost as much as I do my Sunday morning cup of coffee. I know it seems a bit foreign to some of you, but to the rest of you, this probably makes perfect sense. ( ;

While growing up, I always enjoyed reading the paper with my dad. We had some friendly competition when it came to who was going to read the Smithfield Herald first. I would read the obituaries as a child, too. Does that make me sound even more {insert your own adjective here}?

I have often wondered why I like to read the obituaries. I often cry when I read of someone whose time on this earth was all too short. I have also cried when I read about someone who truly seemed to live out their days on this earth. When I read someone’s obituary, I like to try to discover what made that person tick or what gave them purpose. That’s why I like to read obituaries. I know that someone’s obituary is a very short synopsis of his or her life. But, it is a window into who they were…how they chose to live out their lives. 

I am a curious person by nature and as a life coach, part of my job is helping clients to understand what makes them tick and unearth their purpose. I LOVE my job!! I desire to see people living their life and not just existing, watching the clock.

The title of my blog is Living Life. Have you lived today? Or have you merely existed? How do you know when you have lived life? What does that look like for you?

For me, it is being present or taking time to truly notice my surroundings. Listening to my husband and kids instead of just hearing them. Smelling the fresh-baked bread coming from Subway when I have to go to Wal-mart (see, that makes the trip a little better!). Watching the amazing and colorful array of birds that visit our bird feeder outside my kitchen window. Pausing to pray with my babies when someone we know has a need. Truly answering questions instead of placating or patting on the back. Going out of my way to make someone I care about feel special and loved. Listening to my Father during the day and asking Him what are you saying to me, instead of plowing through my day.

I encourage you to figure out what makes you tick, your purpose. Take one day this week and live your life. You may have decades to live your life…or you may have only a few days to do so.

Either way, when I read the obituaries next Sunday, I hope to read about people who lived out their God-given purpose. As we approach Easter, the celebration of our resurrected Redeemer, may you know and have peace that you will live again.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Obituaries

  1. Susan Childers

    How interesting you posted about Obituaries, today of all days. My Father In Law at 80 years old, may he finally rest in peace, passed yesterday. I bet he was one you read today. He will be well missed but I can truely say he lived his life to the best. He made his career with 22 years in the Army. Ranging from Army Infantry to Drill Seargent. Was a dedicated war hero from both Nam and Korea and even Berlin guarding Hitler’s lieutenant. (after 17 years of listening to his army/war stories, I never knew that till this week). Imagine the dedication of a man who REFUSES to accept the Purple Heart that he should have received for his war injuries, as he felt if he accepted it He didn’t do his duty. My Husband and I worked hard last night to get his Uniform with all his metals ready for his visitation today and with our last minute trip to Fayetteville this am and Matthew’s dedication to making sure his father was seen will full colors this afternoon, I am honored to have been able to call him my father in law. This morning my mother in law was informed that he will get a full military funeral tomorrow and I so look forward to being a part of this and seeing him rest in peace as he so well deserves.

    • Susan,
      Yes, indeed, your Father-in-law lived his life!! I am so sorry for your loss, Susan. I pray that his ceremony tomorrow will be filled with honor as you celebrate his life. I am thankful for the freedom we have as a result of men and women who have given years of service and some who have given their lives. Thank you for sharing your Father-in-law’s legacy with me. I wish I could have known him!! Praying for you and your precious family!

Leave a Reply

