Date with Destiny

We all have one and I thought mine was going to be today…

If you have read any of my most recent posts, you know we are trying to discover what food budget works best for our family. And tonight, my kids wanted Chick-fil-A. Well, they didn’t like my answer when I told them we have plenty ‘o food in the house. In the end, we compromised. I would take them to Chick-fil-A and they would use their own money to buy their kid’s meals. See, the budgeting is paying off! I am saving money every where I turn and making my 5 and 3-year-old children buy their dinner!! Oh boy, this blog isn’t starting out too well…and it gets worse.

On our way home from Chick-Fil-A, I was about 3 miles from home and I noticed two cars in front of me. The one in front was in his lane and the one behind him was halfway in my lane. I remember thinking, she will see me and realize she is in my lane and needs to get back in her lane. Well, I was wrong. She never even looked up until we were side by side. I will never forget what she looks like even though I can’t even begin to tell you what type of car she was driving.

We almost had our date with destiny…going 55mph and colliding head on with another vehicle at said speed is never pretty. I don’t know what she was doing other than not paying attention to driving…which, by the way, is pretty important. I had two of the three greatest gifts God has ever given me in the back seat of my Highlander. And to think that only a matter of inches separated us from our date with destiny. Obviously, today was not our day and for that I am thankful. Thank you Lord for another day!

As a believer, this makes me ponder the inevitable. Death. Do you know where you are going when your time is over? I realize that I have a very diverse group of friends and I like it that way. I am friends with atheists, agnostics, believers of every shade and color, and some who believe but are still searching. I have never been one to be pushy about my beliefs. But, the question begs an answer…do you know?

As a coach, this makes me ponder the “what if” questions that coaches are great at asking. If tonight had been my date with destiny, would I leave this world with any regrets? The answer to that question is yes…the rest of the answer is that I am on a journey and I can have a fresh start tomorrow. Figure out what those regrets would be and do something about them today. Your date with destiny may come sooner than you had ever intended.

What would you change about your life if you knew when your date with destiny would be? There is no better time than now to get started…

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Date with Destiny

  1. Sarah Miller

    I am so glad you all are OK! Whenever this kind of thing happens to me, that image stays in my head (like it’s been burned in there) for quite a while. Your thoughts on destiny have really got me thinking about how quickly we can meet it. Love you, Lizzie.

  2. Awesome and thought-provoking post. We were just talking about this at dinner tonight. I know where I’m going and when I think of all the times when I could have met my destiny, I praise the Lord for another day of life. I’m relieved that the Lord spared you and your family. You still have much to share with others before that glorious day arrives. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Praising God for His protection and His awesome mercy! I’ll take care of one regret I would have right now…

    You have NO IDEA what your influence has meant to my family. Even though we don’t see you that often, you have a special place in my heart and a certain ‘never eats meat’ child’s heart. She has nothing but happy memories of her time spent with you.

    I recently read a quote by Beth Moore…

    “Christ desires that we live in such close involvement with Him that all we lack is seeing Him face-to-face.”

    This has become my goal..that all I’m missing once my date with destiny card is played, is seeing my Savior’s face-to-face.
    I have a lot of work to do.

    • Tracey, you are too kind!! I love the Brownings and your not so baby oldest daughter will always have a piece of my heart. She will always be precious to me!! I love that quote, by the way. Live life for Christ with no regrets and then the reward of His presence will be like water to our thirsty souls. Can’t wait for that reunion day!! love you!!

Leave a Reply

