Milestones and Dr. Seuss

One of my favorite things about being a mom is sharing and celebrating milestones with my children. We experienced two very unplanned milestones this week. Sean decided last Saturday that he did not want to wear diapers and that he wanted to wear “big boy underwear”. I went upstairs as fast as my feet would take me and grabbed a pair of Spiderman underwear. He stayed dry all day long!! As fitting with his temperament, when he is ready to do something, he will do it…not a second before!! He potty trained himself in 4 days…dry and no accidents since! He has even had dry pull-ups for several mornings. I would love for this streak to continue, but I am not betting any money on it!

Then, Callie decided that she wanted to ride her bike without training wheels. Not about to be outdone by her little brother, she courageously jumped on her bike with two wheels instead of four and took off. We are not completely steady yet, but I have no doubt we will be soon. And, no joke…Callie just burst into my office and screamed, “Mom, I can tie my shoe!! Watch me!!” How apropos!

Lastly, someone’s 3rd birthday is tomorrow…yeah, I know. 3rd birthday!! It seems as if that blonde-haired, blue-eyed cutie was born last week. He has stolen my heart and I have found that it is possible to give my heart to two men at the same time…

It’s hard to find words to aptly describe how I feel about my children. To say I love them does not seem big enough or descriptive enough. To say that they have changed my life and I will never be the person I was before God blessed us with them is accurate. It is fitting that Callie celebrated Dr. Seuss’ birthday at school this week. Here are a few words from Dr. Seuss that have been on my heart as I have pondered the recent milestones and celebrations:

“Today you are you, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is youer than you.

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself, any direction you choose.

Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting. So…get on your way.

And will you succeed? Yes indeed, yes indeed! Ninety-eight and three-quarters percent guaranteed.

Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting. So…get on your way.”

Dr. Seuss
 
 
I have always heard and taught that parenting is an 18 year process of letting go…so glad that I have 13 and 15 more years to do so!
 
Happy Birthday Sean! May your 3rd birthday tomorrow be as special as you are!
 
 
 
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Milestones and Dr. Seuss

  1. Venon Ferard

    What fantastic parents you both are. These two are beautiful both inside and out. I don’t think that it is possible for a great-aunt to love them more. They are truly a gift from God. They are my heart.

Leave a Reply

