Days 9 – 13, The Frugal Gourmet Continues

I have fallen behind in my posts and hope to catch up with an overview of the past 5 days. Our monthly total from my last post was $112.03. Here is my spending since the last post:

Chick-fil-A: $6.23

Target: $26.25

LaCocina: $26.19

That brings our monthly total thus far to $170.70. I did have a lot of food in our overflow pantry and meat in our freezers, which has greatly helped this month. Next month will definitely be interesting!! We haven’t decided how much to allow ourselves next month. It will depend on how we do this month on $400.

We have eaten several great dinner meals since my last post. We have had crock pot BBQ chicken with lima beans and corn; fried chicken tenders with french fries and peas; and tri tip steak with marinated onions, broccoli stir fry, and onion rings. We ate leftovers one night and tonight we are going to have more leftovers along with pinto beans and rice…believe it or not, one of my son’s favorite meals!

For my homemade BBQ sauce I use tomato paste, apple cider vinegar, butter, water, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, honey, and maple syrup. Keep in mind that I don’t usually measure much when I am cooking. I experiment and keep adding until I get it “right”. Don’t be afraid to get a little creative in the kitchen. It is the best way to discover new things and you will learn so much in the process.

When I am experimenting with a new dish, I will look on the internet for recipes. Once I have a basic list of ingredients, I add a little of this and a little of that until I have the taste I am looking for…much like an artist mixes his or her paint to create the right hue. I would love to hear about your kitchen creations!!

We have $229.30 left for the month and we are halfway to the finish line. We haven’t hit the wall…yet!! I will make a Whole Food’s trip this week and I will place an order with our coop. It may get interesting!! Stay tuned…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

