Super heroes

I think most people would agree that parenting is a difficult endeavor. Long sleepless nights when they are infants only result in long sleepless nights when they are teenagers. Or at least until you hear their car pull into the driveway seconds before curfew. 

I have discovered that the love between a mother and a child is distinctly different from anything I have ever experienced. When my babies hurt, I hurt.

Having children has helped me to understand my Father’s love so much more intimately. I am only beginning to understand God’s love for me.

I can see mere glimpses of His love when I stare into the eyes of one of my babies. I love them and would give my life for them, but He loves me immensely more than I could ever love them…I know, it is hard to grasp. I will never fully understand His love for me. But, that won’t stop me from trying.

In His love, God gives me gracious gifts along the parenting journey. Tonight as we were preparing for bed, I was cutting Callie and Sean’s fingernails. Sean, my energetic two-year-old, does not like for me to perform this necessary task and we have to get a little creative in order to accomplish the goal. As I cut each fingernail, I would tell him that I found a certain superhero under his fingernail. First there was Superman, then Spiderman, then the Hulk, and then Ironman. I then asked Sean who was under his next fingernail…he looked at me, smiled and said Supermomma…I melted on the spot.

That one sentence from my son was better for my soul than any Christmas gift I could ever get. God, in His love for me, knows what I need and when I need it.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Super heroes

  1. Venon Ferard

    Lizzie, this brought tears to my eyes. I think you are a Supermonna, also. I was never able to experience being a mommy, but I feel like I have vicaously through a nephew and now through another generation of a niece and nephew. Happy New Year to all of you.

Leave a Reply

