Dreaming of the Beach (and Granola!)

I really love cold weather and I don’ t have a sarcastic bone in my body…notice the new header picture of the beach umbrella. I am protesting the cold!

But as with the other things in life that I can’t change, the weather will be what the weather will be. I, however, can adjust my attitude and dream about the warm sand beneath my toes and the wind tussling my beach umbrella.

With my new attitude, I tried a new recipe for Gluten Free granola. I have missed granola since converting to a GF diet 2 years ago. After trying the end product of this recipe, I feel like I have been acquainted with an old friend! Here is the recipe:

Good, Gluten-Free Granola
Adapted from Molly at Orangette, who adapted this from The Rancho La Puerta Cookbook

3 cups McCann’s oats
½ cup chopped cashews
½ cup sunflower seeds
¼ cup rice flour
¼ cup sorghum flour
1 tablespoon cinnamon (if you can find Saigon cinnamon, use a touch less)
1 teaspoon allspice
1 teaspoon ginger
¾ cup best honey you can find (I used a chestnut honey from Tuscany)
½ cup cranberry juice, unsweetened
1 tablespoon vanilla extract (make sure it’s gluten-free)
2 teaspoons canola oil

Preheat the oven to 250°, at least half an hour before you will put the granola in the oven. Coat a baking sheet with canola oil (or, you can use vegetable oil spray, if you are sure it is gluten-free).

Combine the oats, cashews, sunflower seeds, rice flour, and sorghum flour. Toss them until the flours coat everything else. Then, add the cinnamon, allspice, and ginger. Toss again.

In a large measuring cup (or bowl), combine the honey, cranberry juice, vanilla extract, and canola oil. Whisk them together until they have become a single, coherent entity.

Pour the honey mixture into the dry ingredients. Carefully, stir it all together with a wooden spoon, until the liquids have thoroughly saturated all the oats. Turn the mixture onto the baking sheet and pat it all out into an even layer.

Place the baking sheet in the oven and bake for fifteen minutes. Take the sheet out of the oven and turn the entire mixture over with a strong spatula, as though you are tilling dirt. Spread and pat, then put it back in the oven. Check again after fifteen minutes. When the new layer of granola is slightly browned, turn it all over again. Cook for at least an hour and a half, to two hours, checking and turning the granola throughout this process.

When the granola is thoroughly browned, and dry to the touch rather than sticky, take the baking sheet out of the oven. Let it rest for fifteen minutes, to cool. Afterwards, scrape the granola into your favorite, wide-mouthed container with a lid. Store it in the refrigerator, where it will keep for up to a week to ten days. Makes four cups of granola.

I did change a few things. I used pumpkin seeds instead of sunflower seeds, coconut oil instead of canola oil, and organic no sugar added apple cider instead of cranberry juice. And if the recipe seems laborious in regards to the cooking and stirring…it is. But trust me, it is well worth your effort!

Enjoy!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Dreaming of the Beach (and Granola!)

  1. I’m going to teach you how to EMBRACE the cold! Now the wind chill thing I can totally do without, but the cool, crisp air is something I can totally get excited about. Especially if a steaming cup of Starbucks is cupped between my two hands! 🙂

  2. okay, Mrs. Ferguson…it’s on! If you can teach me how to embrace the cold (which sounds like an ugly oxymoron) then you have some supernatrual powers!!! Cool and crisp is one thing, but hurt my bones cold is another!! I know, I am a wimp!!

Leave a Reply

