Sacrifices

Before I became a mommy (circa 2005), I showered daily, read for hours at a time, slept in on Saturdays, went for long thoughtful runs by myself, and bought things for myself whenever I wanted them.

I met girlfriends for lunch or dinner on a whim, took my time at the grocery store, returned phone calls and emails promptly, tried new recipes often, and washed two loads of laundry weekly.

I shed few tears, loved a little, and thought life was fulfilling.

My life was very ordered and everything was in its place. I had focus, direction, and motivation…or so I thought.

Since becoming a mommy, I shower as necessary, read during naps or after bedtime, sleep when I can, go for long walks or runs with my daughter and or son, and buy lots of diapers and wipes.

I still meet girlfriends when I can, but our conversations have morphed a bit. The grocery store has become a more familiar place, I return phone calls and emails as time permits, fix lots of healthy snacks, and wash 4 to 5 loads of laundry each week.

I have shed more tears, happy and sad, since having children than I did in the 15 years prior to having my daughter and son. I have learned that true love requires sacrifice, giving of yourself to others.

My life at times seems chaotic and my house disordered. However, I have more focus, direction, and motivation than ever before.

Since becoming a mother, I better understand Jesus’ love for me. He became the ultimate sacrifice for me so that I could receive eternal life. He gave all so that I could have all.

He experienced in the flesh all that we experience. In obedience to His father, He willingly gave up His appointed place in heaven for 33 years so that he could endure humiliation and rejection. He was mocked, scourged, beaten, spat upon, and eventually crucified for you and me. He gave the ultimate sacrifice that a human can give…Himself. Now, that is love! The greatest gift you can give is yourself.

What is the biggest sacrifice you have ever made? When has someone else given freely of themselves so that you could experience unconditional love?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

