Here it comes…

…change! It is truly inevitable. I know people who thrive on change and get bored when they have to drive the same car for more than two weeks. I also know people who have had the same car for 20 years!

I used to avoid change as much as possible. As long as things stayed the same, I didn’t have to face my fears or experience pain or allow God to stretch me. I could relate to Sydney J. Harris when he said, “Our dilemma is that we hate change and love it at the same time; what we really want is for things to remain the same but get better.” Makes me chuckle every time I read it.

It is almost impossible for things to remain the same and get better. I am reminded of another saying: the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Well, if that’s the case, I know several insane individuals (I won’t allow for introspection here)!

Change is inescapable in our lives. I would even go out on a very short limb and say that change is necessary in our lives. Thank God that I am not the same person I was 10 years ago! How we respond or adjust to the changes that we encounter determines our outcome. If we don’t respond or adjust to the changes, we will become stagnant in our growth.

What helps me more than anything is understanding that my God is immutable. He will NEVER change! I can stand on His promises in Hebrews 13:8, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever,” and Malachi 3:6, “”I, the Lord, do not change”. Even though everything around me is in constant flux, God is constant! When I stand on the Solid Rock, I can choose to be malleable in His hand. My foundation is secure!

With these promises in hand, I have been learning to adapt to change and allow it to transform me instead of paralyze me more recently. Change is inevitable, but that also means change is to be anticipated. I wouldn’t say that I particularly embrace change, but I do welcome it instead of slamming the door. So, ready or not! Change is about to ring your door bell. Choose to anticipate and be ready!

 “We are not necessarily doubting that God will do the best for us; we are wondering how painful the best will turn out to be.”
— C.S. Lewis

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Here it comes…

  1. Love the pic that you used with this blog Lizzie… what is the story behind it??? Also the quote by Sydney Harris pegged me to the “T”:) Change is a “good thing” as long as it is in the right direction 🙂 Most often though in my heart it ignites “fear” before “acceptance” comes!

    • Syliva, I wish the photo was my original. I borrowed it from one of those free photo websites. I LOVE red doors and I loved this picture in particular! Makes you kinda wonder what is going on inside, doesn’t it?

  2. Oh my. That last quote hit me right between the eyes. Yes, I truly believe that God will do the best for me, but boy do I shy away from “what it will take” to get to that best plan.

    Oh..and change? Jim finally convinced me to get rid of some of my high school wardrobe. ha ha! (Ok, that was a few years into our marriage but he always cracks up about that.)

  3. Kristin, I love that quote, too. I KNOW God has my best interests at heart, but I also know whatever that is will not be pain free. When Anthony and I were dating, we had dinner on Franklin St. and started to walk back to my dorm. He took my hand and said, “close your eyes. I will give you every direction you need to make it back.” I freaked out! It was darn near impossible to keep my eyes closed. It was a very long walk from Franklin St. to South Campus. I learned so much on that walk. It so reminds me of the way God wants us to trust Him….Daughter, close your eyes, choose to follow me, I will give you everything you need…

Leave a Reply

