Fully Alive

What if life isn’t about accomplishing anything? What if it’s just about being alive?

Those two questions have been taking up residence in my already limited brain space. I can already hear some of you laughing…I know, I know. I can laugh with you. Since having children, my brain capacity has somewhat diminished, but that is only because my heart has quadrupled in size!

But anyway, back on topic. What if life is truly about being alive? I mean really alive… Not just existing, doing all the right things, and waiting for your turn to get on the next boat to your eternal destination, but living from your place of passion and desire. Just the thought of living from that place may scare the freckles off your face, but think about what that might look like. Give yourself permission to play with this foreign, yet enticing idea.

Here are some questions that may help as you ponder: What makes you feel alive? What are you passionate about? What/who energizes you? What are you settling for? Where are you asleep at the wheel? What one thing can you change today to get you closer to where you want to be tomorrow, next week, next month?

My prayer is that you can shift from existing to thriving, from doing to being, from living a life of “I have to…” to living a life of “I get to…”. As you choose this life, a funny thing will happen. All of “those things” on your to do list will get accomplished and you will have more energy to do them!

Give thanks for what you are now, and keep fighting for what you want to be tomorrow.  ~Fernanda Miramontes-Landeros

Now that it’s all over, what did you really do yesterday that’s worth mentioning?  ~Coleman Cox

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Fully Alive

  1. So often we are so busy trying to make it through the trials of life… that we don’t take the time to stop, enjoy, and “live it”! Wonderful thought Lizzie – I think that I’ll quit cleaning and go sit under the tree and “swing” 🙂

Leave a Reply

